Earlier this year I chose “fearless” as my word for the year. I wanted to be fearless in my life. To take chances where I hadn’t before. I thought I wrote about it somewhere, but I guess I didn’t.

So here I am at the end of the year to talk about what I did that was fearless. For the first time in nine years, I went on a date. With someone who had the potential to be someone in my life. I know it seems silly that that would be my fearless option for the year, but trust me, it took every ounce of courage I had to take the leap.

I wish I had written about it, now that the relationship is over. I wish I had documented what I felt as I went through it. He is a good man, but I know I did the right thing by ending it. Two weeks out though, it’s still hard every day. I miss him. I’d hoped we could be friends, but he’s chosen not to communicate with me anymore. That makes me sad. I *liked* him, you know?

Now is time to think about what my word for 2012 will be. (Ugh, 2012. WTF?)

Fearless by Sara Frankl.

