Mom came over this evening to bring me some blueberries and zucchini bread. Then she sat down and started crying. She’d had a lousy day at work, needed gas and was troubled by her uneven walking.

She’s not recovered her balance completely from the twisted ankle and she lost a lot of strength in her right leg when she wore the boot. I can see that it frustrates her when we are out. I know that she hates it.

She talked about it with our doctor on Friday, but said she didn’t offer up any suggestions. So I jump on The Internet and searched for chair exercises for seniors. I described a few, but she shot them down. I found another that seemed easy, yet when I read it to her she asked, “How am I supposed to do that?” I just looked at her and then showed her from where I was sitting on the couch. “Oh.”

The doctor has been trying to get her on an anti-depressant for over a year now. Speaking from personal experience, I think it would do her a world of good. I think it would help her have a different perspective. Our doctor says she often prescribes them for people with chronic pain, but mom just can’t get past the “depressant” part.

I wish I had a magic wand and could make it go away. I have prayed tirelessly that God would grant her relief. It’s so hard to parent the parent. I hate it.

