While we were visiting with Mr. Loti, he offered us tea. When he asked if anyone would like milk with their tea, I said yes. I was the only one to say yes. Apparently I was the only one who didn’t realize this was unpasteurized, straight out of the cow milk. There’s a reason I highlight blonde.

It was, undoubtedly, the most god-awful drink I have ever had in my life. I cringe just thinking about it.

After the first sip, I knew I was in trouble. No amount of sugar was going to make it palatable. A couple more sips. It tasted like stinky feet. Dirty, stinky feet. I tried a few more sips while holding my breath before giving in. I would just have to be wasteful.

Feeling wasteful was a big part of the trip for me. Not eating everything I was served (there was always too much food). Wasting water to clean my toothbrush. Not wanting to look or act like one of those Westerners who make the rest of us look bad. Yeah, off to a great start.

