I tried a knitting class several years ago, but gave up pretty quickly. Tonight was my second class of my second try at figuring it out. I like the teacher and feel that I'm getting the hang of it. I realized today that's probably because of Sudoku.

I have a co-worker who loves Sudoku and tried forever to get me to try it. I just saw the jumble of numbers and figured I would never figure it out. Numbers and me are not a good mix. But, she keep patiently prodding, even starting me out weekly on the kid's version. So I started working on them. Just the kid's one for a while. Generally I was frustrated.

Then I started getting them. So I started trying the "regular" puzzle starting with one star and working my way to being able to do the entire week. I even bought a book and worked my way through to "difficult."

I have to say that I've been pretty proud of myself for trying and tackling the challenge head on. I think that's why I'm having more patience with myself and this knitting thing. I figure if I can overcome my numbers phobia, surely I can do this.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

