At the beginning of the year, I made a "to do"/resolutions sort of list:

  1. Pay off all credit card debt
  2. Avoid High Fructose Corn Syrup
  3. Eat more veggies
  4. Be a better recycler
  5. Stop using plastic bottles
  6. Build savings to cover 3-6 months expenses
  7. Begin replacing light bulbs with compact fluorescent bulbs

I'm pleased with where I stand. I paid off my credit cards (still doing that happy dance). I did cut back on HFCS and tried to eat more veggies. I've done well with recycling, but have the occasional plastic bottle slip. Right now I am focusing my funds on Tanzania, but building my savings is next on the list. And I guess I've not had enough bulbs go out to use of the regular bulbs I had.

So, naturally, I've been thinking about resolutions for 2009. Two came to me in the shower the other day: I need to get back to wearing my contacts and make-up for work. I'm too young to be too dowdy.

My goal for weight is to get all the way through the 150s. I've been dancing around 160 for too long. Man. Bra size and now weight. Out loud. To people. Who know me. What is the world coming to?

The other day I found a book that I haven't picked up in years, "All About Me." It was done nine years ago at 34. Very interesting. Relationships I questioned then are no longer in my life. People I missed, I still miss. Things I hoped for our world still hold true today.

It's funny to look back with hindsight and see where I am today. Maybe at the end of next year I can complete a similar book so I can review it ten years from then. See if I am still the me I was then and are now.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

