Tags

, , ,

A friend wrote that to me today and I just love it!

I know I've not been around much lately, and I'm not sure why. I've been over at Facebook, the lazy man's way to blog. You can kill time for hours and never do anything meaningful. Except for a good game of Scrabble.

Two friends mentioned this week how I've not been writing. I'm just in a place where I don't have much to say. That may change in the coming weeks as we move through this process with mom. Or it may not. We'll see.

That said . . .

After speaking with her surgeon this morning, Mom has decided to have a mastectomy. There are a few tests she needs before then, so we do not have a surgery date yet. Our next doctor appointment is Oct. 17.

I really liked the surgeon. He sat with us an hour and ten minutes. She'll be in the hospital at least one night. He said it will be about three weeks before she can return to work. She was very relieved to hear that. At this time, she is opting out of reconstructive surgery.

Overall, Mom is doing well. I know she is worried (who wouldn't be?), but she has a pretty positive attitude and is ready to tackle this head on.

That's where we stand. Still waiting. Week-by-week. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

