Casting a critical eye on our weaknesses and working hard to manage them, while sometimes necessary, will only help us prevent failure. It will not help us reach excellence. – Marcus Buckingham & Donald Clifton

I've been coming to a liberating realization this year (thanks in part to my Buddhist shrink). In the interest of being compassionate, productive, and generally liked, I've unconsciously rounded off some of my edges – like my sharp tongue, my exceedingly high standards, and my deepest sensitivities. If I were truly evolving, I think to myself, I would learn to love cooking, budgeting, and Vipassana meditation. But I don't, and I likely won't. So #%*@ well-rounded! As it turns out, my edges are my greatest strengths.
– Danielle, stylestatement.com

THIS WEEK: Explore your strengths and your weaknesses. Make a list of each. Next to your strengths, write two or three ways you can maximize your assets – a workshop, a different role at work, a reading group related to the subject you shine in. And as for your weaknesses – admit to them. Treat them like house guests who've worn out their welcome – lovingly but firmly. Time to move on. You have strengths to cultivate.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

