So, my second word. The 20% word. It's supposed to be your creative edge. The word that expresses your being. Kind of the accessories of life. The gift you long to give to the world, as well as the gift you long to receive. The second word does not have a definition like the 80% foundation word, but is listed with descriptive synonyms.

Example words: artistic, bold, edgy, graceful (ha!), maverick, punk, sultry, vixen, zen.

Obviously one is not limited to the list of words they supply. And, to be honest, as much as I'd like to be hip or dazzling or rebellious, I'm not.

So I sat with with myself and listened. The first word that came to me was Compassionate. So, I pulled out the dictionary and thesaurus and found this:

Compassionate: Having or showing compassion. A compassionate person. Concerned with human welfare and the alleviation of suffering.

Compassion: A feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering. Deep awareness of the suffering of another coupled with the wish to relieve it. The humane quality of understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it.

Synonyms: altruistic, beneficent, benevolent, benign, charitable, forgiving, generous, giving, goodhearted, humane, kind, kindhearted, kindly, lenient, liberal, magnanimous, merciful, philanthropic, sympathetic, thoughtful, tolerant

Beneficent
Doing good or causing good to be done; conferring benefits; kindly in action or purpose. Doing or producing good; performing acts of kindness and charity;
characterized by beneficence.

Synonyms: advantageous, benignant, favorable, good, helpful, profitable, propitious, salutary, toward, useful altruistic, benign, benignant, good, goodhearted, kind, kindhearted, kindly

Benevolent
Characterized by kindness and concern for others.  Desiring to help others. Charitable. Intending or showing kindness. Showing or motivated by sympathy and understanding and generosity. Generous in providing aid to others.

Synonyms:  altruistic, beneficent, benignant, good, goodhearted, kind,  kindhearted, kindly

There never was any heart truly great and generous, that was not also tender and compassionate. — Bishop Robert South

So that's where I am.

Genuine or Simple

Compassion, Beneficent or Benevolent

I keep going back to the first big question of the book Do you look like yourself?  My gut reaction was No. I'm a blonde.

I keep asking, Do I look like myself? Again, the answer is No. I've become sloppy in my appearance, both professionally and in my casual wear. 

I've been looking through magazines and websites trying to figure out what my look is now. The one where I get dressed and have a look. I've been thinking about how I used to dress when I was thinner. I was very Ann Taylor-ish. Is that who I still am?

Honestly? I don't know. But I am glad to be thinking about it. Because what I look like now is not who I want to be.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

