Tags

So, overall my cholesterol came down 27 points. It is still high, but I totally believe that change comes from giving up meat.

My LDH came down 17 points, which puts it just under the reference range.

My LDL came down 9 points, but is way over the reference range.

My HDL went up 11 points and is mid-reference range (this is the only number you want going up).

The biggest change was my triglycerides, which jumped 44 points, well above the reference range. My doctor attributed that jump to no fish in my diet. She recommended I eat three servings of fish a week for the Omega-3 (preferably salmon, albacore tuna, sardines, mackerel, lake trout and herring).

She also recommended I add Omega 3 fish oil and Red Wine Rice to my diet.

Mom was thrilled that I am added fish back into my diet. I was too since I'd been craving it. She asked every day if I wanted to go somewhere to eat fish. I think it makes her feel like I am more "normal." So we went to Red Lobster yesterday. I ordered salmon. I choked half of it down. It was a LOT harder than I thought it would be.

However, I am thrilled the numbers came down and I don't need medicine for it. That we can still work on the lifestyle factor.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

