You didn't really think I'd make it through the book and movies favorites without a mention of Harry Potter would you? I mean 2007 was a magnificent year for Muggles.

The movie came out and it was spectacular. Truly, I think it is the best of the series so far.

Harry Potter: This connection between me and Voldemort… what if the reason for it is that I am becoming more like him? I just feel so angry, all the time. What if after everything that I've been through, something's gone wrong inside me? What if I'm becoming bad?
 
Sirius Black: I want you to listen to me very carefully, Harry. You're not a bad person. You're a very good person, who bad things have happened to. Besides, the world isn't split into good people and Death Eaters. We've all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That's who we really are.

And then the book. The end of the series. I really had a mixed reaction to the book. It surprised me. I'd expected to love it. To be blown away.

Now, what am I thinking these month later?

That I loved the series. I love how JK Rowling writes and thinks. I envy her that.

The final book was satisfying. It wasn't perfect. I didn't love it. I remain un-blown away by it.

I suspect I fall into the category of fans that might not have been happy with any ending. Just because it was ending.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

