Tags

,

Well, frak.

Colgate-Palmolive does animal testing. There goes my Colgate. The also own Irish Spring and Palmolive dish detergent (which I use). But here's the biggie. They recently bought Tom's of Maine.

Tom's has made environmentally-friendly, all-natural types of products for years. I use their deoderant because it's the only one I could find that didn't give me hives.

But now, they are owned by a company that does animal testing. I'm sure they will maintain their animal friendly policy, but where do you draw the line? At the product or the company?

 

Every shampoo and conditioner I own does animal testing. As does every lotion. And toilet paper. And Q-Tips. My God, what will I do without Q-Tips??

This "trying to do the right thing" is hard. But have you seen any of those animal testing videos? Nasty, nasty stuff. I saw on television recently a company tube feeding conditioner to a goat to see how it reacted. Is that really necessary?

Thankfully, there are good companies out there that offer the same products. Some of them I can even find at some (ok, two) specialty stores.

Like Kiss My Face, Dr. Bonner's, Aubrey Organics, Burt's Bees and many other names I do not recognize (and they are pretty expensive).

Skin Deep Cosmetic Safety Database is where I found this information. Maybe you should check on some of your skincare products there too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

