Tags

,

Just like her mom.

Gigi loves Pedigree like nothing she's ever eaten. It's what I bought when I first found her and she always scarfed it down. It went by the wayside when I started working on possible food allergy issues.

Before I figured out what animal byproducts were, I bought it once in a rare while.

She's not been enthusiastic for any food I've bought since. With the maybe exception of the raw diet.

The other day I bought a small can and tried an experiment. I put down a plate that was half Pedigree and half something way better for her (and way more expensive). She sniffed around a second before ravishing the side with the Pedigree.

I honestly don't know what to do. The raw diet was the last step in me becoming a vegetarian.

Now, I know the raw diet meat is from sustainable farms. This is a good thing. But it made me nauseaus. But so does the thought of her eating poultry or dog byproducts.

Guess we're going back to the raw diet and I'll have to suck it up. Bleh.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle
Barbara Kingsolver

I just finished Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. The first few chapters were very dry, but I'm glad I pushed on. It was a very educational read about her family's choice to deliberately eat food produced in the place where we live for one year. This includes fruits, vegetables, herbs and chickens/turkeys.

I found it really a fascinating read and learned a lot about sustainable farming, eating local, eating what's in season and basically living a life true to the land.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

