Tags

, ,

Especially now that I am a vegetarian. I need to cook more and rely less on processed food (love Amy's!). This vegetarian thing is making me look at my entire life differently. Now I want to buy organic. From a farmer's market.

I see pictures of all these dishes the local veggies bloggers are making. In addition to being beautiful pictures, the food looks yummy. I want that.

I've always liked to cook. I've just never been very good at it. If I don't follow a recipe to the T, and even maybe then too, you can be assured of a disaster. I'd love to be one of those people who can throw in a pinch of that and a dash of this and have it turn out perfectly.

My mom was not an intuitive or creative cook either. We pretty much had the same simple dishes over and over. I remember a lot of hamburger patties.

I've never had to cook much really. I did when I was home in the summers or after school when I was younger, but I pretty much stuck with the same fare she did. Monkey see, monkey do. And as a single girl it's always easy to come to a bowl of cereal or to just snack.

On Saturday I went to a local farmer's market and bought tomatoes, potatoes, green beans and apples. I've pan fried some of the potatoes with olive oil, salt & pepper, and garlic. Ditto the green beans. They tasted pretty decent.

I want to do that more. Support local growers and eat fresh foods. And learn how to cook.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

