Tags

Yesterday was one month of meatless living. Not having meat hasn’t been a problem. It’s been surprisingly easy.

The only time it "gets" me is when I think of something and realize, Oh. I can never have that again. Mostly that reaction has been to seafood. Shrimp, crab, scallops. And the mention of prosciutto made me sad the other day.

But I feel that making sacrifices is part of this process. That it’s supposed to be a little difficult to remind me of the reasons why I made the decision that I did.

I’ve not given up eggs and milk, but haven’t had any milk in the house this first month. I bought some the other day, and it tasted awful to me. Awful. I did buy the lower sugar option, so I guess that shows I was drinking it for the sugar taste. I used to drink it like water.

I’ve been monitoring my nutrient intake and calcium has been the biggest issue thus far. It’s recommended women get 1000 mg per day and I’ve been getting no where near that. So, I found a good list of foods with calcium and have placed it on my fridge, along with the vegetarian pyramid and some other reminders.

I am up to 25 minutes on the elliptical now. I did it last night while watching Gene Simmons Family Jewels. Most nights I watch the evening news. I’m learning a lot about what’s going on in the world while hopefully lowering my cholesterol.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

