Tags

I'm going vegetarian.

There, I said it. This is a post that's been swirling in my mind about a month now. I've not said anything because most of the reactions I've gotten haven't been really positive ones. Sad. I just don't want to eat meat anymore. Suddenly I'm all out there.

It's something I've been thinking about for over a year now. I blame a variety of sources.

Gigi. She came into my life and changed everything. I used to approve of animal testing, but I can't imagine anyone torturing my baby. And if I feel that way about my dog, then shouldn't I feel that way about all animals?

Jeff. He's a vegan. He looks so great. I want that sparkle in my eyes too.

Raw diet. I'd been feeding Gigi a raw diet for a few months now. I had to quit because I got to the point that I couldn't cut up her meat because it made me gag.

High Cholesterol. 'nough said.

I had my last meat last week when I couldn't finish choking down the half-hamburger I'd split with someone. I decided that was it.

Vegetarianism is the practice of not consuming the flesh of any animal (including sea animals), but includes dairy or eggs.

Veganism excludes all animal products from their diet, whether or not their production has involved the actual death of an animal (dairy, eggs, honey, etc.).

I've been doing my homework and have learned a lot. Like jello. Commercially, gelatin is made from mainly pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides. Um, yuck.

It's been interesting to me as I've been reading things to see how "out there" people think this is. Like vegans are real kooks. I mean, I'm not to that level, but as a whole it's been making me thinking about the environment more and how I can play a more positive role there.

It's made me pay more attention to which companies' test on animals. I've decided that as I finish items that use animal testing, I will replace them with products that don't.

Don't worry, I'm not going to go all PETA on you!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

