Tags

I was sitting in a taxi, wondering if I had overdressed for the evening, when I looked out the window and saw Mom rooting through a Dumpster.

I finished this memoir last night. I was quite a ways out from finishing but reached a point in the book where I just had to know how Jeannette and her siblings made it out of one of the most dysfunctional families I've ever read about.

Jeannette does "The Scoop" ~ a gossip column ~ for MSNBC.

This book packs a powerful punch. So many times I raised my hand to my mouth in disbelief at how her parents "raised" her. They were an alcoholic and a "free spirit" ~ definitely two people who should not have been allowed to raise children.

I don't know how she was able to convey her story with such love towards her parents. Frankly I don't know how those kids turned out to live such "normal" lives . . .

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

