Dallas Mavericks coach Avery Johnson has been named the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA Coach of the Year for the 2005-06 season, the NBA announced today.

In his first full season as the Mavericks head coach, Johnson received 419 points, including 63 first-place votes, from a panel of 124 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

Johnson, the first coach in Mavericks history to receive the honor, led the Mavericks to a 60-22 (.732) record, the third-best mark in the league and tied for the best season in franchise history. Johnson, named head coach on March 19, 2005, was the fastest coach to 50 wins (50-12) and recorded the best start by a first-time coach in league history, winning 66 of his first 82 games. Johnson led the Mavericks to a 34-7 mark at home, tied with the San Antonio Spurs for the best home record in the Western Conference.

After retiring as a player on Oct. 28, 2004, Johnson began the 2004-05 season as an assistant coach with the Mavericks. In 16 NBA seasons, Johnson played 1,054 games and averaged 8.4 points, 5.5 assists, 1.7 rebounds and 25.3 minutes. Johnson spent the majority of his playing career in San Antonio (1992-2001), where he was part of the 1999 NBA Championship team and remains their all-time leader in assists.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend